As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 7 best automatic litter boxes, sorted by the cats they fit
Updated
Short version: if every cat is over 3 lb and you use clumping litter, I'd pick the Litter-Robot 4. Its maker states the weight floor and the drawer math plainly. For a big cat or a cat that avoids hoods, the open top Neakasa M1 Plus takes cats up to 33 lb. For a small young cat, the Leo's Loo Too is listed down to 1 lb. If you want crystal litter, the ScoopFree Crystal Pro is the only pick built for it.
Not sure which fit? Run the fit checker first.
Quick comparison
| Model | Cat weight | Most cats (maker) | Days between emptying (claim) | Litter | Size (L x W x H) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 3 lb and up (no upper limit, maker) | 4 | 7 (1 cat) | clumping clay, tofu or plant clumping | 24 x 24 x 31 in |
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | 3.3 to 22 lb | Not stated | 15 (cats not stated) | clumping clay, tofu or plant clumping | 24.21 x 21.96 x 21.96 in |
| Neakasa M1 Plus | 3.3 to 33 lb | 3 | 14 (cats not stated) | clumping clay | 22 x 20 x 26 in |
| CATLINK Young Version | 3.5 to 22 lb | Not stated | 15 (1 cat) | Not stated | 23.62 x 23.62 x 27.95 in |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | 1 to 20 lb | 4 | Not stated | clumping clay | 27.6 x 22 x 24 in |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | Up to 15 lb (maker) | Not stated | 30 (cats not stated) | crystal | 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping | Not stated | Not stated | 7 (cats not stated) | clumping clay | 28.4 x 20.6 x 10 in |
Weights, sizes and day claims come from each Amazon listing. Cat counts come from the listing or the maker's own FAQ. Only 2 of the 7 say how many cats their day claim assumes, and both say one.
Maker claimOur estimate for 3 cats
- Whisker Litter-Robot 47 days2.3 days
- PETKIT PuraMax 215 days5 days
- Neakasa M1 Plus14 days4.7 days
- CATLINK Young Version15 days5 days
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro30 days10 days
- PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping7 days2.3 days
The picks
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 19, 2026. We have not used these litter boxes. Maker claims are labeled as claims.
Whisker Litter-Robot 4 with Step and Fence
Get this if every cat in the house is over 3 lb, you use clumping litter, and you have up to four cats. Skip it if you have a kitten under 3 lb and no plan to run it by hand, or no room to leave space around it: Whisker says it must not touch any wall. It is the one pick whose maker states both numbers plainly: 3 lb minimum per cat, and about one drawer a week for one cat, twice a week for two.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Each cat must weigh at least 3 lb for automatic mode (listing). Whisker says there is no upper weight limit
- Up to 4 cats (listing). Whisker: empty about once a week for one cat, twice a week for two
- Clumping litter. Whisker says pellets, paper and non-clumping litter will not sift
- 24 x 24 x 31 in with step and fence, 24 lb (listing). Entry 15.75 x 15.75 in (Whisker)
- Whisker app with waste and litter levels and cat weight after each visit
- 1 year warranty, 90 day returns (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the self-cleaning, say it cuts litter box odor, and notice they use less litter.
- They complain about: Size gets mixed reports: some say it does not suit big cats or cats that pee standing up. Durability is mixed too, with some worried about how long it lasts.
Good
- Clear minimum weight and drawer guidance from the maker
- No upper cat weight limit per Whisker
- Tall, wide entry
Watch out for
- Tallest pick here at 31 in
- Must stand clear of walls
- Owners are split on how it suits big cats and cats that pee standing
PETKIT PuraMax 2
Get this if your cats are all at least 6 months old and between 3.3 and 22 lb, and you want a low 7.87 inch step in. Skip it for a kitten, and skip it if the box would sit on carpet: PETKIT says carpet and mats can upset the sensors. The 15 day bin claim does not say how many cats it assumes. We read it as one cat, so plan on about 7.5 days with two.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Cats 3.3 to 22 lb, not for pets under 6 months (listing)
- 7 infrared and 4 weight sensors, pauses when a cat comes near (maker claim)
- 7 L waste bin, up to 15 days (maker claim, cat count not stated)
- Clumping litter. Comes with bags and an N50 odor remover
- 24.21 x 21.96 x 21.96 in, 22 lb (listing)
- PETKIT app, 2 year warranty (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it works right out of the box, runs very quietly, and that cats get used to it quickly.
- They complain about: Odor control gets mixed reports. Some say the inside is too small for average cats, and some report clumps smearing inside.
Good
- Low 7.87 inch entry
- Owners report very quiet running
- Lowest of the globe boxes here
Watch out for
- Not for kittens under 6 months
- Not on carpet or mats
- Some owners say it is small for average cats
Neakasa M1 Plus (open top)
Get this if you have a large cat up to 33 lb, up to three cats, or a cat that refuses covered boxes. Skip it if you want tofu litter: Neakasa's own FAQ says not to use it, or to mix in less. The listing says 7 to 14 days of use. It does not say for how many cats, so the higher number is the best case.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Cats 3.3 to 33 lb, up to 3 cats. A Kitten Mode in the app for kittens under 3.3 lb (listing)
- 11.2 L waste bin, 7.2 L of litter, 7 to 14 days (maker claim)
- Open top with an infrared array and a limited rotation angle (maker claim)
- Clumping litter. Neakasa's FAQ says to avoid tofu litter or reduce it in a mix
- 22 x 20 x 26 in, 22 lb. Needs about 3.4 sq ft of floor (listing)
- Neakasa app with per-cat tracking, 2 year protection plan (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners find it easy to use, say it arrives mostly assembled, and like the self-cleaning and odor control.
- They complain about: Some report units that stop working. Some find it too small for larger cats, while others praise the bin size.
Good
- Highest upper weight here
- Open top for cats that avoid hoods
- Largest bin of the app models
Watch out for
- No tofu litter
- Some owners report units that stop working
- Needs Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz for the app
CATLINK Young Version
Get this if you want a globe box that just plugs in, with no Wi-Fi or app, and your cats are over 3.5 lb. Skip it for a large breed. Owners mention Maine Coons as too big for it. Its 13 L drawer claim is one of the few that says what it assumes: 15 days, based on one cat.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Cats 3.5 to 22 lb in the bullets. The listing's important information section says 3.3 to 22 lb. Plan on 3.5
- 13 L waste drawer, 15 days based on one cat (listing)
- 57 L globe, rolling sift
- No Wi-Fi and no app. Arrives assembled
- 23.62 x 23.62 x 27.95 in, 26 lb (listing)
- 1 year warranty (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like that it needs no assembly, and mention quiet running, odor control and quick waste removal.
- They complain about: Some say it may be too small for big breeds like Maine Coons, and some report it breaking within four months.
Good
- Drawer claim says it is for one cat
- Nothing to set up on your phone
- Largest drawer here
Watch out for
- Listing gives two different minimum weights
- Litter types were not stated in the part we read
- No usage data to watch for health changes
Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too
Get this if you have a young or small cat, since it is listed for cats from 1 to 20 lb, and you use clumping clay litter. Skip it if you use anything else: Casa Leo says other litter can damage it and voids the warranty. It is also the heaviest pick at 30 lb, and the listing gives no drawer days, so the checker cannot estimate them.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Cats 1 to 20 lb (listing). Radar, four weight sensors and anti-pinch (maker claim)
- 6 L sealed waste drawer with UV and carbon odor control (listing). Casa Leo says up to 4 cats
- Clumping clay litter only, per Casa Leo's FAQ
- About 30 dB (maker claim)
- 27.6 x 22 x 24 in, 30 lb (listing)
- App, Alexa and Google Assistant, no subscription, 1 year warranty (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the design, and many are glad not to scoop.
- They complain about: Some find it a pain to clean. Odor and litter containment get mixed reports, larger cats can find it tight, and some report the drum only rotating halfway at first.
Good
- Lowest minimum cat weight here
- Quiet claim
- No subscription for app features
Watch out for
- Clumping clay only
- No drawer days on the listing
- Some owners find it a pain to clean
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro (uncovered)
Get this if you like crystal litter, your cats are over 6 months old and under 15 lb, and you need a box only 6.2 inches high. Skip it if you want to use your own litter. PetSafe says to use only its ScoopFree litter, which comes in disposable trays you keep buying. The 30 day claim does not name a cat count, and PetSafe says more cats means changing trays more often.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- No weight minimum stated. PetSafe says cats older than 6 months, best for cats under 15 lb
- Disposable ScoopFree crystal tray, up to 30 days fresh (listing claim)
- Motion sensors start a rake after each visit. Health counter tracks visits
- PetSafe crystal litter only, no clay or clumping
- 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in, 13.3 lb (listing)
- 1 year limited warranty (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners find it easy to use and like the setup instructions.
- They complain about: Odor control is split, and some report the motor not running, poop stuck in the rake, and units breaking after about six months.
Good
- Lowest box here, fits under low shelves
- Health counter you can share with your vet
- No globe, so nothing rotates
Watch out for
- Proprietary trays are an ongoing purchase
- Not for kittens under 6 months
- Owners report rake jams and motor failures
PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping
Get this only if you want a plain rake box that takes the clumping litter you already buy, with no globe and no app. Skip it if you want the most reliable pick. The owner summary we read was mostly negative. PetSafe says to empty the bin weekly and does not give a cat weight range in what we read.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- Cat weight range not stated on the listing or the PetSafe page we read
- Weekly bin emptying (maker)
- Clumping litter, and 'most other types' per the listing without naming them
- About 28.4 x 20.6 x 10 in. The listing shows the same numbers in a different order, and PetSafe's answer on its product page gives 721 x 524 x 253 mm
- 6.6 lb, open top, 1 year limited warranty (listing)
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Some owners say it works well with two cats.
- They complain about: Many report the rake stopping, clean litter pushed into the bin, getting stuck at the dump position, loud popping sounds, and units breaking within two months.
Good
- Uses your own clumping litter
- Low 10 inch height
- Lightest pick here
Watch out for
- No weight or age guidance in what we read
- Owners report jams and popping noises
- No usage tracking
Before you buy any automatic litter box
- Weigh your lightest cat. Sensors that miss a small cat will not pause for it. See minimum cat weight and kittens.
- Divide the drawer claim by your cats. Whisker says one cat is about once a week and two cats about twice a week. See drawer days with more cats.
- Match the litter. PetSafe's crystal box takes only its own crystal trays. Casa Leo says clumping clay only. See which litter works.
- Measure the spot. Heights run from 6.2 to 31 inches here. See size and space.
- Keep a second box. Vet groups suggest one box per cat plus one. See how many boxes.
This is general information, not veterinary advice. If a cat strains in the box, cries while peeing, or passes little or no urine, call a veterinarian right away.