As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
Minimum cat weight: why your smallest cat matters most
Updated
An automatic litter box has to know a cat is inside so it can wait. Many use a weight sensor, and a cat under the rated minimum may not register. On the listings here that minimum is 1 to 3.5 lb. Two makers also say 6 months or older, and the two PetSafe boxes give no weight minimum. Your lightest cat decides what is safe to run in automatic mode.
The rated range on each listing
| Model | Cat weight | Age rule |
|---|---|---|
| Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 3 lb and up (no upper limit, maker) | Not stated as an age |
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | 3.3 to 22 lb | Yes, 6 months or older |
| Neakasa M1 Plus | 3.3 to 33 lb | Not stated as an age |
| CATLINK Young Version | 3.5 to 22 lb | Not stated as an age |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | 1 to 20 lb | Not stated as an age |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | Up to 15 lb (maker) | Yes, 6 months or older |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Clumping | Not stated | Not stated as an age |
- Whisker Litter-Robot 43 lb
- PETKIT PuraMax 23.3 lb
- Neakasa M1 Plus3.3 lb
- CATLINK Young Version3.5 lb
- Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too1 lb
What the makers say about kittens
- Whisker: the Litter-Robot 4's scale will not recognize kittens under 3 lb. They can use it, but not in automatic mode. Whisker suggests leaving it off, waiting about 7 minutes after the kitten uses it so the waste can clump, then powering it on for one cycle, and turning it off again.
- PetSafe: recommends the ScoopFree for cats older than 6 months. Kittens can have softer waste that soaks more litter and fouls the rake.
- PETKIT: the PuraMax 2 listing says not for pets under 6 months.
- Neakasa: the listing says to turn on Kitten Mode in the app for kittens under 3.3 lb.
- Casa Leo: the Leo's Loo Too listing gives 1 to 20 lb, the lowest floor here.
- CATLINK: the bullets say 3.5 lb, and another part of the same listing says 3.3. Plan on the higher number.
The upper end
Big cats have their own limit. The Neakasa M1 Plus goes to 33 lb, and Whisker says the Litter-Robot 4 has no upper limit, with a 15.75 inch square entry. PetSafe says the ScoopFree is best under 15 lb. Owners of several globe boxes say they feel tight for big breeds. See size and space.
Introduce it slowly
PETKIT's own advice is to set the new box next to the old one, add a scoop of used litter, and keep auto-clean off at first so the motion does not scare the cat. Whisker says most cats use the Litter-Robot within several days to a week. Keep the old box until your cat uses the new one every time.
Picks for a home with a small cat: Whisker Litter-Robot 4 and Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too are rated for cats down to 3 lb or less.
Check your own cats with the fit checker, or compare all 7 picks on the roundup page.
This is general information, not veterinary advice. If a cat strains in the box, cries while peeing, or passes little or no urine, call a veterinarian right away.